IMTY Award

The Board of IMTAL recognizes the importance of decision makers to the future of museum theatre. The IMTY Award was established to recognize CEOs or Senior Staff members who have demonstrated strong support for museum theatre. 

Nominations are accepted each year from December 15 - January 15 from any current IMTAL member (institutional, individual, or student). One recipient is selected, and the award is presented during at the Awards Dinner of the IMTAL Conference. IMTAL requests that the winner attend the dinner to receive their award and briefly address the attendees.

Nomination Instructions: 
To nominate a senior staff member from your institution, please email the IMTAL President with the following information:

      • Name of the person you are nominating
      • Title
      • Address
      • Your name
      • Your contact information (address, phone number, email address)
      • Will the nominee be attending the IMTAL Conference?
      • Will you be attending the IMTAL Conference?
      • Please provide a brief statement describing how your nominee has supported museum theatre in your institution.

The IMTY Award recipient will be notified prior to the IMTAL Conference. IMTAL may also request a brief phone interview with the winner and a digital photograph to use with the announcement of the award both online and in INSIGHTS magazine.


Please feel free to contact the IMTAL President with any questions.  

Previous IMTY Award Recipients

   2018 Heather NielsenDenver Art Museum
 2017   Philip Yuris Gillette Castle State Park
2016   David Rosenberg Monterey Bay Aquarium
2015   Melanie Adams Missouri History Museum
2014   Betty Brewer and Rebecca Gilliam  Minnetrista
2013  Judith Gradwohl National Museum of American History
2012   Deborah Gaston National Museum of Women in the Arts
2011   Kerry Sautner National Constitution Center
2010   Joe Imholte Science Museum of Minnesota
2009   Wilton Corkern Accokeek Foundation

Jeff Patchen
      Interview with Jeff, click HERE.
The Children's Museum of Indianapolis

2009 IMTY recipient Wilton Corkern, then President and CEO of the Accokeek Foundation,
accepting his award with Lisa Hayes, then Director of Education and Public Programs

© 2023  IMTAL    |
    Webmaster Contact

International Museum Theatre Alliance (IMTAL)
c/o New England Museum Association
22 Mill Street, Ste 409       Arlington, MA 02476